Congratulations to CAP Faculty and Residents who were awarded Board Certifications in November 2017. These certifications recognize excellence in practice and education.
Anne Misher, Pharm.D., BCACP
Susan Smith, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCCP

Cara Coffelt, Pharm.D., BCPS
Amanda Hafer, Pharm.D., BCPS

Elizabeth Price, Pharm.D., MSCR, BCPS


Dr. Ray Maddox celebrates his retirement, November 29, 2017.
(Pictured L-R: Ken Duke, Chris Bland, Hal Richards, Ray Maddox, Kay Maddox, and Misha Thomason) 

There will be a Clinical & Translational Science Conference on February 22/23 For more information please see the attached flyer

Dr. Henry Young, Kroger associate professor, was featured in a recent edition of the Athens-Banner Herald on the Opioid epidemic that's hitting Georgia harder than most states. Read the full article here.

Congratulations to Dr. Rebecca Stone and her research team for winning the ACCP Best Poster Award at the Annual Meeting a few weeks ago. Pictured above are Marcia Buck, ACCP President, Rebecca Stone, and Denise Rhoney, ACCP Research Institute Board.

Below are research team members Stella Hur, Dennia Ernest, Brielle Scutt, with Rebecca Stone. Their winning entry was titled, "Oral emergency contraception access and patient counseling: Are there differences between metropolitan and nonmetropolitan pharmacies in Georgia?"

 Dr. Catherine Bourg Rebitch appeared in the October 23rd issue of the UGA Columns, for her work with Mercy Health Center. Read full story  here

Applications are being accepted for the Georgia CTSA KL2 Program for Junior Faculty Members.  DEADLINE: 5:00 PM, March 1, 2018 
for more information There will be a Free Two-Session Workshop will be held on November 28 and December 5, from 9:30 to 11:30 AM. The sessions will provide a detailed review of the application process, as well as providing tips on how to create a competitive application. 

Congratulations to Dr. Beth Phillips, who was named Associate Editor of the Journal of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (JACCP). The new journal will serve as a forum for discussions of clinical pharmacy practice research, education, and training. 

UGA's Columns features Dr. Trisha Branan, was one of the winners of UGA's Creative Teaching Awards,(Spring 2017), for her work using interacitve learning to engage pharmacy students. Click here to read the article. 

Watch Senator Johnny Isakson's introduction to the 8th Annual STaR conference, Public and Private Partnerships, which was held in Augusta, GA, Sept. 21-22. 2017. Click here for more information on keynote speakers, awards, and sponsors of the event.

UGA's Focus on Faculty  features CAP's own, Dr. Brain Segraves! Congratulations!

ACCP Awards Dinner

ACCP Annual Meeting UGA Dinner, with Faculty, Resident
and Student to cerebrate these winners: 

Best Poster Award- Rebecca Stone
Fellows Keynote Address- Susan Fagan
MeRIT Posters- Sharmon Osae & Anthony Hawkins
PRN Chairs- Rebecca Stone, Henry Young, and Dianne May
PRN Secretary/Tresurer Stehpanie Phan
Poster and Oral Presentations-Chris Bland
Am Care PRN Residency Committee Member- Elizabeth Price

Dr. Brian Seagraves receiving $12,775 grant from Jackson EMC.
The Hepatitis C Clinic at the Athens Nurses Clinic recently received a $12,775 grant from Jackson EMC. Founded by Dr. Brian Seagraves, a CoP academic professional and a board member of the Nurse’s Clinic, the Hepatitis C program provides medical assistance to low income individuals in the Athens area who are infected with this disease, which attacks the liver. 

Student Awards & Honors

Congratulations to Dr. Shada Kanchanasuwan, who presented her final defense on Monday, November 28, 2017. Her dissertation title is Impact of the Affordable Care Act’s Dependent Coverage Provision. She will Graduate on Friday, December 8, 2017.

Congratulations to the following doctoral students for being accepted to candidacy this fall!

Abdulrahman Alwhaibi - CET
Sandeep Artham – CET
Wael Eldahshan – CET
Shada Kanchanasuwan - PHSOP 

Abdulrahman Alwhaibi, 3rd Year PhD Student in Clinical and Experimental Therapeutics, was awarded the UGA Graduate School Travel Award for his upcoming 1st author presentation at the American Association for Cancer Research conference in Orlando, FL, in December 2017.

Sandeep Artham, 4th Year PhD Student in Clinical and Experimental Therapeutics, was awarded the UGA Graduate School Travel Award for his upcoming 1st author presentation at the Angiogenesis Gordon Research Conference, August 6-11, 2017, at Salve Regina University in Newport, RI. 

Resident Graduate Students Receive Certificates

The College of Pharmacy held its Graduate Certificate Program in Clinical Pharmacy for the Class of 2017 in early June at the Augusta Marriott. Graduate students completing their residency training received their certificates in Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy’s Graduate Certificate Residency PGY-1 and PGY-2 Programs. Dr. Milap Nahata, from the College of Medicine at Ohio State University, gave the commencement address. Congratulations to our graduate students!

Congratulations to Sandeep Artham, who won first prize at the VA Research Day in Augusta, GA

Congratulations to Heba Ahmed, Arwa Fairaq, and Surbhi Shah for obtaining their PhD's on May 5, 2017! Heba and Arwa graduated from the Clinical and Experimental Therapeutics program, located in Augusta, GA. Surbhi graduated from the Pharmaceutical Health Services, Outcomes, and Policy program, located in Athens, GA.  

Arwa Fairaq
, CET Ph.D. Candidate is featured in UGA's Graduate Spotlight!

Congratulations to Sally Elshaer, who successfully defended her disseration on November 28, 2016! Dr. Elshaer will graduate with her Ph.D. on December 16, 2016. Dissertation title "Modulating Neurotrophin Receptor; P75 Exerts Vascular Protection In Ischemic Retinopathy"

Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties (BPS) certification recognizes excellence in knowledge and practice at the national level.  We are pleased to announce that three of our PGY-2 residents achieved new BPS board certifications.   Drs. Kirby Welston, Maggie Guinta, and Rachel Webb who took the graduate/resident  Clinical Applications (BOARD PGY-2) course became board certified in pharmacotherapy (BCPS).  Sitting for the BCPS exam is an option in the course.  Since inception of the course in 2010, all students have elected to take the BCPS exam and have achieved board certification. 

Surbhi Shah, PHSOP Graduate Assistant and Ph.D. Candidate, is featured in UGA's Graduate Spotlight

Yu Wang
, PHSOP Graduate Assistant, abstract won the PMRG Community Advocacy Advancement Student Poster competition and will be featured at the upcoming PMRG Institute meeting in Cherry Hill, NJ, October 24-26, 2016. This award also included funding for travel to the conference. Click to view poster

Connect & Share

Follow us on Twitter!